27 C
July 9, 2020
City Beats Editor's Picks Politics

Names of New 12 Governors

place your ads

No fewer than 12 governors yesterday vacated their seats for new ones after spending four years or the maximum constitutionally allowed eight years of two terms, respectively in office.

Most of them who had spent eight years at the helms of affairs of their respective states and those who were given the booth after only one term of four years, had passed on the baton to their successors to continue from where they stopped.

The governors that handed over to their respective successors are : Rochas Okorocha of Imo state, Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos state, Senator Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun state, Senator Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo state, Kashim Shettima of Borno state and Jibrilla Bindow of Adamawa state.

Others are ; Abubakar Bello of Niger state, Mohammed Abdullahi Abubaka of Bauchi state, Umaru Tanko Al-Makura of Nasarawa state, Ibrahim Dankwambo of Gombe state, Abdulaziz Yari of Zamfara state and Ibrahim Gaidam of Yobe state. Meanwhile the new governors include: Ahmadu Fintiri (PDP) – Adamawa State; Bala Muhammed (PDP) – Bauchi State; Babagana Zulum (APC) – Borno State; Inuwa Yahaya (APC) – Gombe State and Emeka Ihedioha (PDP) in Imo state. Others include Abdulraham Abdulrazaq (APC) – Kwara State; Babajide Sanwo-Olu (APC) – Lagos State; Abdullahi Sule (APC) – Nasarawa; Dapo Abiodun (APC) – Ogun State; Seyi Makinde (PDP) – Oyo; Mai-Mala Buni (APC) – Yobe and Bello Matawalle (PDP) – Zamfara State.

Although elections were held in 29 out of the 36 states in the last general elections, others will only take oath office as the second termers in their respective states. The second termers are: Okezie Ikpeazu (PDP) – Abia State; Udom Emmanuel (PDP) – Akwa Ibom State; Samuel Ortom (PDP) – Benue State; Ben Ayade (PDP) – Cross River State; Ifeanyi Okowa (PDP) – Delta State; David Imahi (PDP) – Ebonyi State and Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (PDP) of Enugu state. Others include are: Muhammad Badaru (APC) – Jigawa State; Nasiru El-Rufai (APC) – Kaduna State; Abdullahi Ganduje (APC) – Kano State; Aminu Masari (APC) – Katina State; Abubakar Bagudu (APC) – Kebbi State; Abubakar Bello (APC) – Niger State; Simon Lalong (APC) – Plateau State, Nyesom Wike (PDP) – Rivers State; Aminu Tambuwal (PDP) – Sokoto and Darius Ishiaku (PDP) of Taraba state.

In Adamawa, the PDP’s Ahmadu Fintiri who defeated Governor Jibrilla Bindow in the last governorship contest in the state has taken over . Fintiri, a former Speaker of the state House of Assembly and acting governor of the state after Murtala Nyako was impeached in 2014, was believed to have enjoyed the support of the former Vice President and the presidential candidate of PDP in the last election, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar to win the poll.

For Bindow, who lost his re-election, analysts are of the opinion that the division within the rank and file of the ruling party in the state was responsible for his loss. It was believed in some quarters that his policy and politics among the top notch of the stakeholders in the party were also responsible for his failure in the poll.

In Bauchi, PDP’s Bala Mohammed, erstwhile FCT minister, who defeated outgoing governor Mohammed Abubakar, has been sworn-in as the governor of the state . Mohammed, who emerged victorious in a keenly contested election that brought Bauchi to a standstill, was said to have enjoyed the support of the stakeholders across all sectors in the state.

The incumbent governor was said to have lost the election due to power play within the ruling APC in the state. In Kwara state, Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq, has taken oath of office as the new governor of the state. Although, Abdulrazaq contested against the candidate of the PDP, Rasak Atunwa, pundits believed that the contest was a straight contest between candidates in the Saraki political structure and those in 31 other political parties that participated in the elections in the state.

In Ogun State, Prince Dapo Abiodun, who defeated the candidate of the outgoing governor, Ibikunle Amosun,has be sworn in. Despite the support he gave to Adekunle Akinlade of the Allied Peoples Movement ahead of the governorship election, the outgoing member of the House of Representatives lost to the governor-elect, Dapo Abiodun.

In Oyo State, the candidate of the outgoing governor, Abiola Ajimobi, Adebayo Adelabu, lost to the candidate of PDP, Seyi Makinde. He has taken over the leadership position of the state. The camps of both Ajimobi and Makinde have been engaging each other in war of words since the result of the election was declared.

Most people believed that the unfriendly nature of the governor cost his candidate the seat.

In Gombe State, Inuwa Yahaya, of the APC would be sworn today .

Some analysts are of the view that since he participated fully in the running of the state before and had better experience in terms of governance, he is in a better position to give a new direction. In Zamfara State, due to the court pronouncement, Bello Matawalle of the PDP has reaped from where he did not sow and he has been sworn in to replace former governor Abdul ‘aziz Yari .

Related posts

How My aides stole money in my bedroom’-Senator Ajibola Basiru


Crisis rocks Osun PDP as members kick against purported suspension


Supreme Court voids APC’s victory in Zamfara elections


Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More